Skip to product information
1 of 1

Mick Mitchell

Sisyphus Unleashed

Sisyphus Unleashed

Regular price £12.99
Regular price £12.99 Sale price £12.99
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Published: March 2018

ISBN: 9781780915692 

Sisyphus Unleashed is a comic, nostalgic and often tragic look back at the lives of a small mining community in the eighties. The Live Aid Concert acts as a backdrop to the story in which the past catches up with a diverse collection of characters.

Dean Swift finishes a night shift hoping to spend a weekend escaping his humdrum existence with drink, friends and unfulfilled fantasies. Over the next twenty-four hours his interactions with friends and family are revealed.

Myfanwy is hiding his HIV status; Alex is suicidal following the death of his son; Podge is on the run from her abusive ex; Colin finds meaning in sexual encounters and belonging with a gang of football hooligans.

As Dean searches for meaning and the chance of happiness, infidelities are revealed, old scores are settled and violence erupts all of which expose the cracks in the formerly tight-knit mining community.

The book is the first of a trilogy, each set several years apart which, through realistic but fictional characters and intertwined stories, charts the changes in a small ex-mining community from Thatcherite Britain to Brexit.

About the Author 

Mick Mitchell has completed an Open University Degree, gaining 2.1BSc (hons) in Arts and Humanities with English Literature. He has always read widely but never mixed in circles where knowledge or erudition was encouraged.

He has an interest in exploring the social history of ordinary working class people, and presenting it in his fiction work. This is a subject he knows well, having been born and bred in a mining community.

He now lives with his wife in South Nottinghamshire.


There is also an ebook version available of this title, it is for sale from Amazon or your usual provider. eISBN: 9781781562802

#humour #fiction #nottinghamshire

View full details