Skip to product information
1 of 1

David Potter

Celtic - How The League Was Won - 49 times

Celtic - How The League Was Won - 49 times

Regular price £14.99
Regular price £14.99 Sale price £14.99
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

There is also an ebook version available of this title, it is for sale from Amazon or your usual provider. 

Celtic have now won the Scottish League 49 times beginning in 1893. They have done 9-in-a-row, 6 in-a-row and now in 2018 they have done 7 in-a-row, and who is to say when that will end? Each League winning season is here, affectionately described.

Great players are involved - Dan Doyle, Sandy McMahon, Jimmy McMenemy, Jimmy Quinn, Patsy Gallacher, Jimmy McGrory, Billy McNeill, Jimmy Johnstone, Roy Aitken, Henrik Larsson, Shunsuke Nakamura and our own beloved "Broonie".

The circumstances in which the League was won are sometimes quite remarkable - they have won it with 10 men in their final game, they once played two games on the one day to win the League and they even played 8 games in 12 days to win it.

They occasionally needed a little help from their friends in the shape of Barney Battles and Albert Kidd. All this and much more are detailed in this book which will be a great addition to the bookshelves of any Celtic supporter.

About the Author

David Potter has supported Celtic all his life, a condition he inherited from his father. He is a retired teacher of Classics and Spanish, and first saw Celtic in 1958.

He has written about 20 books on Scottish football, mainly on great Celtic players like Jimmy Delaney, Jimmy Quinn, Patsy Gallacher, Jimmy McMenemy, Tommy McInally, Jim Young and Bobby Murdoch.

He is married to Rosemary, lives in Kirkcaldy, has three children and four grandchildren. His other interests are cricket, drama, the poetry of Robert Burns and walking his beloved dog.

See David Potter's 'Meet Our Authors' page for more information and other books he has written


View full details