Aberdeen Memories : A Hidden Archive Uncovered
The idea for this book came from the "Evening Express" readers themselves. Since Raymond Anderson started the daily "Memories" nostalgia features in May 1998, those readers have provided a steady flow of pictures from the past. These are the best of them.
It very quickly became clear that this popular feature was unlocking the hidden past of our area. These pictures and the stories behind them clearly deserved to be preserved in a book.
It was from that conviction that this project was born. It is our belief this hidden archive of the lives of North-east folk over the last 100 years captures something of the unique character of Aberdeen and the North-east.
About the Author
The Press and Journal was first published as a weekly title on Dec 29th 1747 and was known as The Aberdeen’s Journal. It was published on a weekly basis for 128 years until August 1876, when it became a daily newspaper.
In November 1922, the paper was renamed The Aberdeen Press and Journal when its parent firm joined forces with the Free Press. It has been the voice of Aberdeen ever since.